National Parks


QLD Sunshine Coast - Glass House Mountains National Park

A scenic patchwork of pine plantations, bushland and cultivated fields in the Sunshine Coast lowlands north of Brisbane. Eight of the 16 peaks are protected in Glass House Mountains National Park — Mts Beerwah, Tibrogargan, Ngungun, Coonowrin (Crookneck), Miketeeburnulgrai, Mt Cooee, Elimbah (Saddleback) and Coochin Hills.

Named by Cook during his epic voyage along Australia’s east coast, the Glass Houses are rhyolitic volcanic plugs left by volcanic activity millions of years ago. This area has special significance for the Gubbi Gubbi Aboriginal people.

Go for a scenic drive stopping to walk, picnic or enjoy the view. Picnic at the base of Mt Beerwah or Mt Tibrogargan in the park, or nearby at Mt Beerburrum, Wild Horse Mountain, Glass House Mountains Lookout or Mary Cairncross Park, Maleny overlooking the park.

Go birdwatching. Enjoy the spring wildflower display along the Trachyte circuit.

Camping is not allowed in the park but you can camp at nearby private campgrounds on the Glass House Mountains Road or at Coochin Creek in Beerburrum State Forest and Forest Reserve.

Most walkers can reach lookouts part way up the peaks. Only very experienced walkers should climb to the summits. Mt Coonowrin is closed for public safety. Wear a hat and sunscreen. Take drinking water on your walk. Rocks are slippery when wet. Tracks may be closed when the bush fire danger is high.


The Glass Houses are west of the old highway between Beerburrum and Beerwah. About a 70 min drive from Brisbane CBD

Further Information

Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service
PO Box 15187
City East Q 4002

13 QGOV (13 74 68)